Graviteam
April 25, 2018, 06:59:33 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Attention Windows 7 users - Please Read.  (Read 16486 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Kyth
Moderator
Generalfeldmarschall
*****
Posts: 2044


« on: March 26, 2012, 12:37:40 PM »

Hi folks,

This problem has cropped up often enough to warrant a special sticky reminder.

So as a sort of public service announcement, here goes:

If you're a Windows 7 user, please do not, repeat, do not, install your copy of Steel Fury in the 'Program Files' folder. Sooner or later you'll encounter problems with patches, updates and mod installations.

For your own sanity (and ours) please install Steel Fury in some other folder, drive or partition.

Thank you.
Logged

"What am I, chopped liver..?"

"Yes."
Flashburn
Generalfeldmarschall
*****
Posts: 2411



« Reply #1 on: March 27, 2012, 03:37:32 AM »

From experience, ANY graviteam game/patching on windows 7 leads to pain if installed to programs. 
Logged

Yabba dabba do
Kyth
Moderator
Generalfeldmarschall
*****
Posts: 2044


« Reply #2 on: March 27, 2012, 05:58:03 AM »

From experience, ANY graviteam game/patching on windows 7 leads to pain if installed to programs. 

Agreed.

Some further information about this Windows 7 (and Vista) phenomenon:

The folders "C:\Program Files\", "C:\Program Files(x86)\" and "C:\Windows\" are protected locations.
Any changes to files in these folders may be 'virtualized', i.e. the updated version is actually saved to a different location, under the user's profile folder.
To add to the confusion, evidently this does not happen all the time, or consistently.
So if you're lucky, you might get away with it once or twice, but somewhere down the line, the law of averages will start kicking in. Smiley
Logged

"What am I, chopped liver..?"

"Yes."
tigershuffle
Hauptmann
***
Posts: 32


« Reply #3 on: March 27, 2012, 11:42:29 AM »

Thanks......my Steel Fury has always been a thing of mystery with the user missions and having different versions of JGSME?! on my desk top using Win7.
Will start again.  Cheesy

Just been jumpin through hoops getting my AchtungPanzer K43 back on my pc as i bought it from D2D and hadnt reinstalled it since upgrading..
took gamefly 2 months to sort me out.....and then getting it patched was a 'mare too. Still doesnt show on Gamefly as active but can play without using their client which is a bonus   Grin
Logged

Tanker
Generalfeldmarschall
*****
Posts: 1084

BRING BACK MARKERS


« Reply #4 on: March 27, 2012, 03:25:12 PM »

I ended up putting my game on D: drive, just in case,lol.
Logged

Bring back 3D markers!
Tanker
Generalfeldmarschall
*****
Posts: 1084

BRING BACK MARKERS


« Reply #5 on: March 27, 2012, 03:27:38 PM »

Thanks......my Steel Fury has always been a thing of mystery with the user missions and having different versions of JGSME?! on my desk top using Win7.
Will start again.  Cheesy


I got the same phenomenon.  The mods install updated versions of jsgme on the desk top.  I just kept the older version which was in the game folder.  You could eliminate that one and use one of the newer ones on the desk top if you wished.
Logged

Bring back 3D markers!
ubermenschx
Oberleutnant
**
Posts: 7


« Reply #6 on: April 03, 2014, 02:44:49 PM »

I am sure this topic has been visited before...

I cannot get Kharkov to install on my Windows 7 laptop.
I select a file (other than in my Programs folder as the destination) and get this:

"Unable to execute file
Create process fail; code 740
The requested operation requires elevation"

Any ideas?

Thanks Ubermenschx
Logged
frinik
Generalfeldmarschall
*****
Posts: 3145


« Reply #7 on: April 03, 2014, 03:00:09 PM »

Are you trying to install it on your C: drive ?
Logged
ubermenschx
Oberleutnant
**
Posts: 7


« Reply #8 on: April 03, 2014, 03:00:53 PM »

Yes, on my C Drive but not in my programs folder
Logged
ubermenschx
Oberleutnant
**
Posts: 7


« Reply #9 on: April 03, 2014, 03:02:42 PM »

Installing it to:

C:\Users\Kevin\Desktop\Steel Fury- Kharkov 1942 (Download)
Logged
ubermenschx
Oberleutnant
**
Posts: 7


« Reply #10 on: April 03, 2014, 03:14:07 PM »

Any ideas?
Logged
lockie
Generalfeldmarschall
*****
Posts: 2348



« Reply #11 on: April 03, 2014, 03:18:13 PM »

Try to install:
D:\My_games\Steel Fury_Kharkov_1942\
Perhaps, disk "C" may cause a problem.
Logged

Provocative signature removed
Donken
Generalmajor
*
Posts: 460


« Reply #12 on: April 03, 2014, 03:19:31 PM »

Sounds more like a permission problem, Rightclick on your shortcut and/or starter.exe and run as administrator Tongue
Logged

The real heroes are those that never came back.
ubermenschx
Oberleutnant
**
Posts: 7


« Reply #13 on: April 03, 2014, 03:35:25 PM »

WORKED! Danke!
Logged
Mjölnir
Leutnant
*
Posts: 1


« Reply #14 on: March 02, 2015, 06:48:12 PM »

What about the widescreen-bug, i still cant fix it grrrrr Sad
Logged
Txema
Generalmajor
*
Posts: 369


« Reply #15 on: March 02, 2015, 08:08:13 PM »

Please, check the FAQ here:

http://graviteam.com/forum/index.php?topic=4.0
(last post)

Or here:

http://stasf2008.ephpbb.com/t30-faq-steel-fury

And report if it fixes your problem


Txema
« Last Edit: March 02, 2015, 08:11:22 PM by Txema » Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines
Simple Audio Video Embedder
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!