Graviteam
March 28, 2024, 10:39:43 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: New to the game - A whole bunch of questions  (Read 10264 times)
ru_disa
Oberleutnant

« on: April 14, 2015, 02:00:41 PM »

Hi all,
I started playing GT:OS recently. Simulations and wargames are my favorite hobby and I have to say that I'm really impressed by what I've seen in GT:OS so far. I have a few questions:

1) First of all, is this game still being actively supported? Is it being patched? Are there new DLCs or sequels planned?

2) I have the non-steam version of the game; I got it from an IndieGameStand bundle (the game is titled Achtung Panzer: Operation Star - I assume it's the old Strategy First version). I've downloaded the update files "Core Update v581c1 (May 20, 2013)" and "Patch December 2014 (December 30, 2014)" and I've updated the game. When I try to apply the patch "Polygons Update March 2013" I get an error message. What can I do? What does that file do?

3) What DLCs would you recommend I get first?

4) I see that a new version of SABOW recently came out on Steam. Would you recommend this game over Steel Fury: Kharkov 42? Is SABOW compatible with GT:OS or is it its own separate game?

Thanks to everyone who'll take the time to reply! I appreciate it.

Dane49
Generalfeldmarschall

« Reply #1 on: April 14, 2015, 03:27:42 PM »

Hi ru_disa,

I can answer a few of your questions.
The game is still being supported and you can check this site for the latest patches.
A new game called Mius Front 43 is planned for the near future and will be a stand alone game with a new engine and interface with its own set of DLCs and very simular to GTOS.

I don't think you need the polygon updates anymore since the all the old maps for GTOS being sold now have been updated.

As far as what DLCs you should get next depends on what your interested in.