Graviteam
March 19, 2024, 04:04:29 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 ... 19
  Print  
Author Topic: ME question  (Read 187220 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
frinik
Generalfeldmarschall
*****
Posts: 3145


« Reply #20 on: May 16, 2011, 02:33:36 AM »

  But Kyth don"t you have to trace the path you want the units to follow?I tried that feature a couple of time and they did not obey they scattered.Unless you have to add a formation order as well to make sure they go in a column???
Logged
Kyth
Generalfeldmarschall
*****
Posts: 2044


« Reply #21 on: May 16, 2011, 03:36:33 AM »

Correct. The mode of movement is tied in with the unit's movement path.

For example,

ext, ai_setstate, 0, 0x1; (Turn on "Along the road")
ext, ai_setstate, 0, 0x4; (Turn on "Imperceptible")
ext, ai_move, GMoves03_001, false, -1, 15; (Waypoints 1 to 6)
ext, ai_move, GMoves03_002, false, -1, 15;  "
ext, ai_move, GMoves03_003, false, -1, 15;  "   
ext, ai_move, GMoves03_004, false, -1, 15;  "
ext, ai_move, GMoves03_005, false, -1, 15; "
ext, ai_move, GMoves03_006, false, -1, 15;  "
ext, ai_setstate, 0x4, 0; (Turn off "Imperceptible")
ext, ai_setstate, 0x1, 0; (Turn off "Along the road")


It's also a good idea to set the formation as 'column'.
Logged

"What am I, chopped liver..?"

"Yes."
hemisent
Oberst
******
Posts: 293


« Reply #22 on: May 18, 2011, 10:09:25 PM »

  I have duplicated Kyth's example above with the exception of the last two lines for now. The one thing I don't have a clue of is:
Kyth's:
ext, ai_setstate, 0, 0x1; (Turn on "Along the road")
ext, ai_setstate, 0, 0x4; (Turn on "Imperceptible")

mine:
        ext, ai_setstate, 0, 0x1;
   ext, ai_setstate, 0x1, 0x4;    [
   ext, ai_move, road wp01, false, -1, 15;
   ext, ai_move, road wp02, false, -1, 15;
   ext, ai_move, road wp03, false, -1, 15;
   ext, ai_move, road wp04, false, -1, 15;
   ext, ai_move, road wp05, false, -1, 15;
}

In my test I have a formation of 3 tanks starting in column. When I hit the ME's "start AI" button the vehicles start to go spasdic and eventually re align themselves in column and head in the general direction of my waypoints but never actually hitting them, all the time criscrossing the road but never staying on it but keeping in column while they meander all over.

  The formation is set for column(which works), the parameters are "among the road".

Thanks
H
« Last Edit: May 18, 2011, 10:31:23 PM by hemisent » Logged
Kyth
Generalfeldmarschall
*****
Posts: 2044


« Reply #23 on: May 19, 2011, 01:24:02 AM »

  I have duplicated Kyth's example above with the exception of the last two lines for now. The one thing I don't have a clue of is:
Kyth's:
ext, ai_setstate, 0, 0x1; (Turn on "Along the road")
ext, ai_setstate, 0, 0x4; (Turn on "Imperceptible")

        ext, ai_setstate, 0, 0x1;
   ext, ai_setstate, 0x1, 0x4;    [
   ext, ai_move, road wp01, false, -1, 15;
   ext, ai_move, road wp02, false, -1, 15;
   ext, ai_move, road wp03, false, -1, 15;
   ext, ai_move, road wp04, false, -1, 15;
   ext, ai_move, road wp05, false, -1, 15;
}


In your 2nd line, you turned off the 'Along the Road' setting. That might be the problem.
Logged

"What am I, chopped liver..?"

"Yes."
hemisent
Oberst
******
Posts: 293


« Reply #24 on: May 19, 2011, 12:41:18 PM »

Thanks Kyth
 Success at last! I added a few waypoints and my group pretty much followed the path. They seem to go off track at intersections though. Do I need to insert waypoints closer together at each intersection.? Also, how do I control the interval or spacing between my units. They like to bunch up and follow right on top of one another.

  Slowly this is making sense.

Thanks
H
Logged
Kyth
Generalfeldmarschall
*****
Posts: 2044


« Reply #25 on: May 19, 2011, 01:00:45 PM »

Okay, from this point on it's all about experimentation  Smiley

You might want to set different speeds for the different units, which might space them out a bit.

I find that trucks seem to be best behaved in following a road or path.
Logged

"What am I, chopped liver..?"

"Yes."
hemisent
Oberst
******
Posts: 293


« Reply #26 on: May 19, 2011, 08:08:20 PM »

  Drat! I was hoping you would say there is a handy dandy slider or some other easy solution that I overlooked in the manual. I have the speed set to the slowest setting, the 3 test tanks are spaced a good distance apart at startup but they all just jam themselves up once they get into column.

 I guess I'll just play around and see what I can come up with

Thanks Kyth

 
Logged
lockie
Generalfeldmarschall
*****
Posts: 2348



« Reply #27 on: May 19, 2011, 08:21:38 PM »

3 test tanks are spaced a good distance apart at startup but they all just jam themselves up once they get into column.
Try to make some changes in tanks config files. Means, change parameter bb_round on value "10" and see what happen.
Logged

Provocative signature removed
hemisent
Oberst
******
Posts: 293


« Reply #28 on: May 19, 2011, 09:26:17 PM »

Thanks Lockie
 I'm a total noob at this and I really haven't gotten into the individual files yet..at the risk of sounding dumb, I have no clue yet how to do that.

BTW-Been following your past posts and the stuff you come up with is really informative. Keep it up please.

H
Logged
lockie
Generalfeldmarschall
*****
Posts: 2348



« Reply #29 on: May 19, 2011, 11:39:05 PM »

BTW-Been following your past posts and the stuff you come up with is really informative. Keep it up please.
OK, it's quite simple Wink
Let's start - u've 3 tanks(PzIV) in column and they quite often got in jam. So, goes to file:
...Steel Fury - Kharkov 1942\data\k42\loc_rus\levels\LEVELS\tech_cfg\pz4.engcfg
Find a line:

Code:
//The size of technics at check of crossing
bb_round = 5.0;
Change this parameter, i.e. on "8" or "10" and see at er mission.
Code:
//The size of technics at check of crossing
bb_round = 10.0;
but be careful, 'cause the value of this parameter affects AI to cross the narrow river badly Wink Simply, tank gets more risk to drown.
Logged

Provocative signature removed
hemisent
Oberst
******
Posts: 293


« Reply #30 on: May 20, 2011, 03:03:40 AM »

Ok, cool. Will give it a try-thanks
Logged
hemisent
Oberst
******
Posts: 293


« Reply #31 on: May 20, 2011, 03:21:25 AM »

I'm trying to get my 3 tank unit to follow along a road (in line formation)to a given area and set
up a defense position in trees 3 tanks abreast. I've got the outlines set and I set the operations to "defense" but upon running the mission in the ME, my tanks go everywhere but the desired location. Do I need to set the operation to "movement" first to get them to the site? If so how do I have them take the defensive posture on site in the trees. Does that call for a second outline on top of the first?

May I have a look at the script for the unit? It's in the <mission name>_scripts.engscr file.

I'll reproduce some of my earlier instructions here:

If your tanks aren't dug-in, and they're on the move, you'll want to prepare some 'defensive contours' for them, single-point ones, at their destination:


Those 3 contours are grouped into a position, simply called 'hill', in the mission editor.

Viewed in the script file, they're listed as:

cs_positions()
{

   ext, add_trench, 1, def1, -1, 1, hill;
   ext, add_trench, 1, def3, -1, 1, hill;
   ext, add_trench, 1, def2, -1, 1, hill;
}


(the format for each line is ext, add_trench, type ( 0 = infantry 1=vehicle ), contour name, number of positions (-1 = autocalculate), type (again!), defense position name)

To restrict each contour to one vehicle only, edit the block:

cs_positions()
{

   ext, add_trench, 1, def1, 1, 1, hill;
   ext, add_trench, 1, def3, 1, 1, hill;
   ext, add_trench, 1, def2, 1, 1, hill;
}


To use the defensive position, the script for the tank unit has to look like this:

   ext, ai_move, germove2_02b, false, -1, 15;
   ext, ai_defence, hill, 15, 150;


On another note to Kyth-
Just now got this to work. However, all three of my test tanks parked in exactly opposite the direction of directional arrow. I know I did this right because I have an AT gun nearby that set itself perfectly.
Any thoughts on what might have happened.

As a side question. Are there any maps that have a rail line or rail tracks in them?
Logged
Kyth
Generalfeldmarschall
*****
Posts: 2044


« Reply #32 on: May 20, 2011, 04:13:52 AM »


On another note to Kyth-
Just now got this to work. However, all three of my test tanks parked in exactly opposite the direction of directional arrow. I know I did this right because I have an AT gun nearby that set itself perfectly.
Any thoughts on what might have happened.

It might be easier if I have a look at your script file, (the entire script file)

As a side question. Are there any maps that have a rail line or rail tracks in them?

There aren't any railroad tracks in the maps,
Logged

"What am I, chopped liver..?"

"Yes."
whukid
Generalfeldmarschall
*****
Posts: 1016



« Reply #33 on: May 20, 2011, 04:28:22 AM »


On another note to Kyth-
Just now got this to work. However, all three of my test tanks parked in exactly opposite the direction of directional arrow. I know I did this right because I have an AT gun nearby that set itself perfectly.
Any thoughts on what might have happened.

It might be easier if I have a look at your script file, (the entire script file)

As a side question. Are there any maps that have a rail line or rail tracks in them?

There aren't any railroad tracks in the maps,

To the all-knowing Kyth,
What files do I need to copy/edit to create the Finnish vehicles? I've edited just about every single one of them, but to no avail. Sad

Secondly, and more on topic, is there a way to enable an "ambush" mode in the Mission editor?
Logged

Kyth
Generalfeldmarschall
*****
Posts: 2044


« Reply #34 on: May 20, 2011, 05:00:58 AM »

[What files do I need to copy/edit to create the Finnish vehicles? I've edited just about every single one of them, but to no avail. Sad

It's like importing new models to the game. Take a look at the Vehicle import tutorial (section 2) on this forum.
You need new .go files, separate from the existing ones - copy and rename them.

You'll have to setup a new nationality in the Common_res file.

- Name of the nationality and 'call-signs'
- Friend or Foe relationship with other nationalities.

Incidentally, other than German, Russian and 'target' there are some others like Rumanian, Hungarian and Italian, which already exist - you could take a look at how they're set up,

Secondly, and more on topic, is there a way to enable an "ambush" mode in the Mission editor?

There's a script command for 'ambush'; specify the distance to open fire.
« Last Edit: May 20, 2011, 05:37:32 AM by Kyth » Logged

"What am I, chopped liver..?"

"Yes."
whukid
Generalfeldmarschall
*****
Posts: 1016



« Reply #35 on: May 20, 2011, 06:19:52 AM »

[What files do I need to copy/edit to create the Finnish vehicles? I've edited just about every single one of them, but to no avail. Sad

It's like importing new models to the game. Take a look at the Vehicle import tutorial (section 2) on this forum.
You need new .go files, separate from the existing ones - copy and rename them.

You'll have to setup a new nationality in the Common_res file.

- Name of the nationality and 'call-signs'
- Friend or Foe relationship with other nationalities.

Incidentally, other than German, Russian and 'target' there are some others like Rumanian, Hungarian and Italian, which already exist - you could take a look at how they're set up,

Secondly, and more on topic, is there a way to enable an "ambush" mode in the Mission editor?

There's a script command for 'ambush'; specify the distance to open fire.


Thank you very much Smiley
Logged

hemisent
Oberst
******
Posts: 293


« Reply #36 on: May 20, 2011, 01:04:21 PM »

Ok Kyth
 Here it is. This is my mission testing different types of vehicle movement. They come out of woods scattered and form into a column following a road to a wooded area then move freely to an ambush/defence area. everything is working ok now except for the tanks not parking in the right direction.

 Have I got this right or are there errors I'm not catching? Do you need anything else.?


ext, ai_form, 2;
   ext, ai_setstate, 0, 0x4;
   ext, ai_setstate, 0x1, 0x1;
   ext, ai_move, road wp01, false, -1, 15;
   ext, ai_move, road wp02, false, -1, 15;
   ext, ai_move, road wp03, false, -1, 15;
   ext, ai_move, road wp04, false, -1, 15;
   ext, ai_move, road wp05, false, -1, 15;
   ext, ai_setstate, 0, 0;
   ext, ai_form, 0;
   ext, ai_setstate, 0, 0;
   ext, ai_move, path wp06, false, -1, 15;
   ext, ai_move, path wp07, false, -1, 15;
   ext, ai_move, path wp08, false, -1, 15;
   ext, ai_move, path wp09, false, -1, 15;
   ext, ai_move, path wp10, false, -1, 15;
   ext, ai_move, amb01, false, -1, 15;
   ext, ai_defence, hill, 15, 150;
}

Logged
Kyth
Generalfeldmarschall
*****
Posts: 2044


« Reply #37 on: May 20, 2011, 01:21:15 PM »

The following lines don't appear to make sense:

ext, ai_form, 2;
   ext, ai_setstate, 0, 0x4;
   ext, ai_setstate, 0x1, 0x1;
   ext, ai_move, road wp01, false, -1, 15;
   ext, ai_move, road wp02, false, -1, 15;
   ext, ai_move, road wp03, false, -1, 15;
   ext, ai_move, road wp04, false, -1, 15;
   ext, ai_move, road wp05, false, -1, 15;
   ext, ai_setstate, 0, 0;
   ext, ai_form, 0;
   ext, ai_setstate, 0, 0;
   ext, ai_move, path wp06, false, -1, 15;
   ext, ai_move, path wp07, false, -1, 15;
   ext, ai_move, path wp08, false, -1, 15;
   ext, ai_move, path wp09, false, -1, 15;
   ext, ai_move, path wp10, false, -1, 15;
   ext, ai_move, amb01, false, -1, 15;
   ext, ai_defence, hill, 15, 150;

What state do you want to set / turn off? Refer back to my earlier example of switching modes on and off.

Also, you might want to turn off the 'imperceptible' setting, or don't use it at all, unless you really want them to save ammo  Smiley

By the way, I'd like to look at the 'cs_positions' block.
Logged

"What am I, chopped liver..?"

"Yes."
hemisent
Oberst
******
Posts: 293


« Reply #38 on: May 20, 2011, 03:37:27 PM »

Thanks Kyth
 Here you go. I wasn't really sure what "imperceptibly" did other than you recommended turning it on along with "among the road" in perimeters box.

cs_positions()
{

   ext, add_trench, 1, amb01, -1, 1, hill;
   ext, add_trench, 1, amb02, -1, 1, hill;
   ext, add_trench, 1, amb03, -1, 1, hill;
}

Also, I just checked my ME.

ext, ai_form, 2;
   ext, ai_setstate, 0, 0x4;  mode of movement to imperceptibly
  ext, ai_setstate, 0x1, 0x1;  mode of movement to among the road

  ext, ai_setstate, 0, 0;        you're right-this does nothing-i'll delete it
   ext, ai_form, 0;
  ext, ai_setstate, 0, 0;        this changes mode of movement back to none-getting rid of "among the road" I want the vehicles to move freely through the woods.

Also I just noticed this:
        ext, add_trench, 1, amb01, -1, 1, hill;
   ext, add_trench, 1, amb02, -1, 1, hill;
   ext, add_trench, 1, amb03, -1, 1, hill;
I changed these to read 1 per your instructions-now I see they reverted back-how do I save them correctly?
Logged
Kyth
Generalfeldmarschall
*****
Posts: 2044


« Reply #39 on: May 20, 2011, 03:55:10 PM »

Okay I see the problem(s)  8)

4 points I need to make:

  • Use Notepad to edit and save the cs_positions() block.
  • The 'Imperceptible' setting is to prevent the unit from firing or taking any aggressive action. Better switch it off when they reach the battle zone.
  • Either set (switch on) or reset (switch off) a state; don't do both to the same state in the same line,
  • The last movement point appears redundant: ext, ai_move, amb01, false, -1, 15;. Just make sure that the previous point, wp10, is within 150 metres of the defense position.

Do take a look at the actual example I gave, they're not just random squiggles  Smiley
Quote

ext, ai_setstate, 0, 0x1; (Turn on "Along the road")
ext, ai_setstate, 0, 0x4; (Turn on "Imperceptible")
ext, ai_move, GMoves03_001, false, -1, 15; (Waypoints 1 to 6)
ext, ai_move, GMoves03_002, false, -1, 15;  "
ext, ai_move, GMoves03_003, false, -1, 15;  "   
ext, ai_move, GMoves03_004, false, -1, 15;  "
ext, ai_move, GMoves03_005, false, -1, 15; "
ext, ai_move, GMoves03_006, false, -1, 15;  "
ext, ai_setstate, 0x4, 0; (Turn off "Imperceptible")
ext, ai_setstate, 0x1, 0; (Turn off "Along the road")


« Last Edit: May 20, 2011, 03:59:18 PM by Kyth » Logged

"What am I, chopped liver..?"

"Yes."
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 ... 19
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines
Simple Audio Video Embedder
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!