Graviteam
August 23, 2019, 10:49:48 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 3 4
  Print  
Author Topic: Barbarossa Campaign beta starts  (Read 29325 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Rends
Generalmajor
*
Posts: 300


WWW
« on: October 12, 2011, 07:09:48 PM »

Here you go:
http://rends.gametoast.com/RENDS_Website/Welcome.html
Click on the SF42 icon for the campaign link.

edit: Update. beta 2 with 3 missions is out now!

For installation simple follow the readme file you find in the zip file

Notice: Most importand i need someone to fix the tank falling from the bridge problem. It adds an extra thrill if or if not all tanks made it over the bridge but i would prefer to have no trouble when AI drives over it.

Anyway, feedback is welcome Cheesy

« Last Edit: October 19, 2011, 04:13:38 PM by Rends » Logged

Fight blood cancer register at : http://www.dkmsamericas.org/
lockie
Generalfeldmarschall
*****
Posts: 2348



« Reply #1 on: October 12, 2011, 08:16:10 PM »

Excellent! What the recommended balance missions of playing?
Logged

Provocative signature removed
Rends
Generalmajor
*
Posts: 300


WWW
« Reply #2 on: October 12, 2011, 08:20:23 PM »

Excellent! What the recommended balance missions of playing?
Hm, i have no clue. guess i have it set to medium settings but need to check it. I´m not a good tanker/gunner but have won and lost the mission a couple of times.
Logged

Fight blood cancer register at : http://www.dkmsamericas.org/
lockie
Generalfeldmarschall
*****
Posts: 2348



« Reply #3 on: October 13, 2011, 12:12:43 AM »

I played on the balance "6". It looks difficult, but I try Wink
Logged

Provocative signature removed
murkz
Oberstleutnant
*****
Posts: 196


WWW
« Reply #4 on: October 13, 2011, 07:19:29 AM »

Really enjoying the mission Rends, played through twice and died both times Smiley Lots of targets. Third time lucky maybe...
Logged

Kyth
Generalfeldmarschall
*****
Posts: 2044


« Reply #5 on: October 13, 2011, 03:08:08 PM »


Notice: Most importand i need someone to fix the tank falling from the bridge problem. It adds an extra thrill if or if not all tanks made it over the bridge but i would prefer to have no trouble when AI drives over it.

Anyway, feedback is welcome Cheesy



I've gotten good results by adjusting the height of the ramps (absolute height 4.5m), the riverbed (absolute height 1.5m) and extending the 'no-go' zones further inland.

The AI tanks seem quite well-behaved now,
Logged

"What am I, chopped liver..?"

"Yes."
hemisent
Oberst
******
Posts: 293


« Reply #6 on: October 13, 2011, 09:26:56 PM »

Rends
 I played this last night and it was great. Set the force balance at five and it seemed a bit easy to me (or I got incredibly lucky first time out) Anyway, thank you for this and looking forward to the next one.

Question-The sound of the player tank did not play at all. Every other sound was there except player tank with both inside view & external view.

Cheers!
H
Logged
Friedrich-Wilhelm
Hauptmann
***
Posts: 35


« Reply #7 on: October 14, 2011, 04:07:03 PM »

Hello Rends,

I played the first mission last night: I turned off the headlights, crossed the bridge, took out the checkpoint and the counter-attacking tanks and voila, mission complete! I have not yet experimented with different balance settings for enemy and allied contingents, but so far, I liked the mission a lot. looking forward to the next one.

Thank you for your efforts in campaign/mission building.

Cheers,

FW
Logged
frinik
Generalfeldmarschall
*****
Posts: 3145


« Reply #8 on: October 15, 2011, 03:04:02 AM »

 Had trouble with the AI playing the first Barbarossa mission, one of my Panzer III kept plunging into the deep water while another one would go up and down the bridge instead of moving ahead and back me up! I got killed by the  AT tank while my infantry was moving about dancing the Samba Smiley

The seond time again the same Panzer III decided to commit suicide again while the other other crossed the bridge , changed his mind and in a clear example of cowardice under fire retreated acorss the bridge and decided to stay safely on the other side.Destroyed the entire Soviet defence in the village single-handedly.....
Logged
Kyth
Generalfeldmarschall
*****
Posts: 2044


« Reply #9 on: October 15, 2011, 03:57:37 AM »

Had trouble with the AI playing the first Barbarossa mission, one of my Panzer III kept plunging into the deep water while another one would go up and down the bridge instead of moving ahead and back me up! I got killed by the  AT tank while my infantry was moving about dancing the Samba Smiley

The seond time again the same Panzer III decided to commit suicide again while the other other crossed the bridge , changed his mind and in a clear example of cowardice under fire retreated acorss the bridge and decided to stay safely on the other side.Destroyed the entire Soviet defence in the village single-handedly.....

Don't cross the bridge immediately; give your troops and light tanks fire support as they move across. You can actually blast away at the defenders from the other side, the flares light things up nicely.
Logged

"What am I, chopped liver..?"

"Yes."
frinik
Generalfeldmarschall
*****
Posts: 3145


« Reply #10 on: October 15, 2011, 09:30:01 AM »

That's what I did blasted 2 trucks from the opposite side and some infantry and then saw one Panzer III driving straight into the river and the other one just waiting so I was forced to take the initiative.Oh well with the AI who knows what can happen Huh?
Logged
Mistwalker
Oberst
******
Posts: 266


« Reply #11 on: October 16, 2011, 06:15:46 PM »

Notice: Most importand i need someone to fix the tank falling from the bridge problem. It adds an extra thrill if or if not all tanks made it over the bridge but i would prefer to have no trouble when AI drives over it.

Anyway, feedback is welcome
Here's my feedback:
About polygon.
-I'd recommend to make houses with barns and fences and plowed ground near them - like in original missions. IMO houses that just stand here with nothing around them look a little silly.  Smiley
-There's water in trenches!   Shocked
-Bug river should be wider.  Tongue

About mission. I thought that specific example will be better so I've made some adjustments, and uploaded it:
http://www.mediafire.com/?j4ar15uwh1hxki8

Full list:
-adjusted initial positions and position orientation for russian forces (tanks were too far away) and made it so they don't always appear in the same place
-merged attacking russian tank platoon and infantry platoon
-added one more AT gun but removed single T-26
-adjusted initial positions for german forces a little
-added one more german infantry platoon as later reinforcements (you don't want to attack enemy positions in small force) - always appears now but can be set for lower balance
-made some little changes in scripts (german AI tanks seem to handle bridge crossing better now)
-added one more attack script for russian forces
-increased exp. for russian forces by 10% - inexperienced don't guard the border. Increased exp. for german forces by 10% too
-added "fail" trigger if counterattacking forces have superiority on russian side of the river (for the cheaters who don't want to cross the bridge)  Tongue
-replaced BT with T-26 and replaced Pz.III lg platoon with mixed Pz.II lg/cz platoon - seems more historically correct (and T-26 attack all together)


That's just an example of how I could make it If I were a mission creator, so you may as well take note or just ignore it. Smiley
« Last Edit: October 16, 2011, 08:19:15 PM by Mistwalker » Logged
frinik
Generalfeldmarschall
*****
Posts: 3145


« Reply #12 on: October 16, 2011, 06:28:43 PM »

Wow Mistwalker that's what I call reworking a mission!Will download and try it!Thanks!
Logged
murkz
Oberstleutnant
*****
Posts: 196


WWW
« Reply #13 on: October 16, 2011, 06:46:53 PM »


About mission. I thought that specific example will be better so I've made some adjustments, and uploaded it:
http://www.mediafire.com/?c6ucho5341kcad5



Hi Mistwalker,

Not sure what i did wrong but i get an exception error now.

Steel Fury - Kharkov 1942 - Copy\data\k42\loc_rus\levels\LEVELS\SCRIPTS\cm_bar

Replaced the two files in there, is that correct?

Jeff
Logged

Mistwalker
Oberst
******
Posts: 266


« Reply #14 on: October 16, 2011, 07:02:07 PM »

Not sure what i did wrong but i get an exception error now.
Ah, sorry, was a problem with player's platoon. Fixed and updated the link above.
Logged
Rends
Generalmajor
*
Posts: 300


WWW
« Reply #15 on: October 16, 2011, 08:35:23 PM »

Mistwalker, thx for your feedback. Smiley
 I will test out your modified version and will tweak mine for better gameplay.

About the water in trenches and the small river bug. I´m still dealing with water and rivers on maps. It´s not that easy. In fact i did this map a while ago. Guess i´m somewhat better in map creation today.
BTW we realy could need a bigger (longer and wider) bridge.

Thx again,
Rends
Logged

Fight blood cancer register at : http://www.dkmsamericas.org/
Rends
Generalmajor
*
Posts: 300


WWW
« Reply #16 on: October 19, 2011, 04:18:27 PM »

beta 2 is out now:

Get it at http://www.gamefront.com/files/20904103/SF42_Barbarossa_beta2.zip

What´s new:
-Mission 1 bugfixes
-Mission 2 new
-Mission3 new (should be familar if you ever installed "my first mission")

Logged

Fight blood cancer register at : http://www.dkmsamericas.org/
murkz
Oberstleutnant
*****
Posts: 196


WWW
« Reply #17 on: October 20, 2011, 12:05:12 PM »

Thank you Rends,

Mission 1&2 complete, will do 3 this evening Smiley
Logged

Rends
Generalmajor
*
Posts: 300


WWW
« Reply #18 on: October 20, 2011, 12:52:13 PM »

beta 3 is out

get it at:

http://www.gamefront.com/files/20906875/SF42_Barbarossa_beta3.zip

Now you can play 4 missions. And here is a problem i can´t solve yet.
The 4th mission crashed at the end of the mission just minutes before the victory message (the victory trigger is not active at the time of crash).

This is the error message:
Exception core:
001: Error initialization program.


Does it happen on your end too?
If you want to check it in mission editor it´s the rends3.poly file
Logged

Fight blood cancer register at : http://www.dkmsamericas.org/
Kyth
Generalfeldmarschall
*****
Posts: 2044


« Reply #19 on: October 20, 2011, 02:24:06 PM »


Now you can play 4 missions. And here is a problem i can´t solve yet.
The 4th mission crashed at the end of the mission just minutes before the victory message (the victory trigger is not active at the time of crash).

This is the error message:
Exception core:
001: Error initialization program.


Does it happen on your end too?
If you want to check it in mission editor it´s the rends3.poly file

Could it be due to 2 separate triggers sharing the same condition?

Quote
triggers()
{
   fail, 0xb, fail_ger, 0.000, 0;
   fail, 0x8;
   fail, 0x9;
   trigger01, 0x1, ger_play, ger_kreuzung;
   trigger02, 0x1, ger_play, ger_kreuzung02;
   trigger03, 0x1, ger_play, ger_ziel;
   victory, 0xb, victory_ger, 0.000, 0;
   victory, 0xa;
   victory, 0x1, ger_play, ger_ziel;
}
Logged

"What am I, chopped liver..?"

"Yes."
Pages: [1] 2 3 4
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines
Simple Audio Video Embedder
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!